Background Reveal Button

Committee Members 2017/2018

Mr Roger Potter MBE

Roger Potter first trekked in Nepal in 1967 whilst serving with VSO (Voluntary Service Overseas) in Bangladesh. He has returned on many occasions, even spending his honeymoon in the Lamjung Himal. He joined The Britain-Nepal Society in 1983, becoming Vice-Chairman in 1993. He succeeded Lieutenant Colonel Gerry Birch as Chairman in 2012.


Ms Alison Marston
Chairman of Younger Members Committee

Alison Marston was born and raised in Nepal, where her family have lived for 40 years and speaks Nepali as her first language. Educated in Kathmandu and latterly at Stowe School in England, for the past 20 years Alison has worked on various charitable and humanitarian projects for Nepal and has extensive and in-depth knowledge of the country. Alison was introduced to the society by her father, a former Gurkha Officer in 2005 and is working to encourage new young members to join the Society.


Mrs MJ Streather
Honorary Secretary

After 35 years as a Marketer in the food industry MJ joined the Britain Nepal society as Honorary Secretary in 2015. The daughter of an ex 4th Gurkha and ex GTR Officer – Peter Attack, and the daughter in law of an ex 6th Gurkha and Himalayan Mountaineer Tony Streather, it seemed appropriate to continue her interest and love of Nepal and the Gurkhas.


Mr Ashley Adams

Ashley Adams spent his career in MOD working in Whitehall and military establishments at home and overseas.Ashley first paid duty visits to Nepal in the 1970s leading Gurkha pay reviews and later as Command Secretary to British Forces Far East.  He joined the Society on return to UK and has regularly supported charities in Nepal.Elected to the Society Committee in 2012 he has taken a special interest in fostering links between schools in Britain and Nepal.


Colonel Rupert Litherland
Honorary Treasurer

Over a thirty year career as a 10th Gurkha, Rupert carried out several duty assignments in Nepal and has visited since leaving the Army to trek and visit old comrades. On retirement from the Army he was the Bursar at Stowe, so when the Chairman who had taught there, tapped him on the shoulder he answered the call in an effort to try to put something back into the special relationship between Britain and Nepal. He has been the Hon Treasurer and Membership Secretary since 2013.


Lieutenant Colonel Gerry Birch
Journal editor

Gerry joined the Society in 1964 following a tour of duty as Signals Officer in Dharan, the Gurkha recruiting depot. The Gurkhas and Nepal featured throughout the rest of his military career in Queen’s Gurkha Signals. His final tour of duty was as Military Attaché in Kathmandu. He was chairman of the Society 2003 to 2012. He has been editor of the journal since 1998.


Full list of committee members 2017/2018

President: His Royal Highness The Duke of Gloucester KG, GCVO
Patron:  His Excellency The Ambassador of Nepal Dr Durga Bahadur Subedi
Vice-Presidents Mrs Celia Brown
Sir Neil Thorne OBE, TD, DL
Mrs Pat Mellor
Sylvia Countess of Limerick CBE
Lieutenant Colonel Gerry Birch
Mrs Jenifer Evans
Field Marshal Sir John Chapple GCB, CBE, DL
Committee (2017/18) Mr Roger Potter MBE Chairman
Mr Ashley Adams Vice-Chairman
Mrs MJ Streather Honorary Secretary
Col Rupert Litherland Hon Treasurer & Hon Membership Secretary
Mrs Minu Chhibber
Mrs Annie Page
Mr Gavin Edgerley-Harris
Mr Andy Sparkes
Mr Balmakund Joshi
Mrs Sneha Rana
Mrs Maggie Solon
Ms Alison Marston
Dr Mark Watson
Mrs Arati Shrestha
Colonel Peter Sharland CBE
Ex Officio TBC Chairman of Younger Members Committee
Mr Sharad Raj Aran (Deputy Chief of Missions), the Nepalese Embassy
Ms Jennifer Nelson rep. The Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Major MK Rai MBE rep. HQ BDE Gurkhas
Lieutenant Colonel Gerry Birch Journal editor